Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Possible exposure and symptoms 2.5 months out from hetero contact?
Jun 22, 2007

Doctor Bob,

I hate to sound irrational, but I really am curious about your opinion on a possible HIV exposure. Please allow me to explain the scenario.

I am a married British military pilot who was recently in Reno, Nevada for work in March. One night, after far too much to drink, I met a woman and went to her place for a sexual encounter. I had a rather long and extremely drunken heterosexual contact with a female towards the end of March - hours of protected vaginal sex during a period that was the begining of her menstruation. This included unprotected receptive oral sex and some digital stimulation as well. I know some blood residue remained on my leg in the morning (gross), but I have little reason to think my condom failed, and any non-protected contact would be purely accidental and unnoticed. The point is, we were both absolutely wasted - a regrettable one night stand. Apparently, she was two months removed from a negative HIV test. I am an ohterwise monogamous partner and have not been exposed to HIV since my last negative test in April of 2006.

Four Days later, I woke up with a rather intense fever that lasted scarcely a night - followed by about 5 days of a general cold and sore throat. Some of my work colleagues reported similar symptoms, so I did not worry a terrible amount.