Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Exposure to HEPC/HIV Please help a healthcare volunteer .. 5th time trying! Have stopped volunteering and feel miserable abt it!!!!
Jun 18, 2007

I work as a volunteer at the VA( first time dealing with blood). Today after I centrifuged some blood from an old black male(HepC positive/unknown HIV) I was putting the plasma into cryovials. I splashed a drop on my face.I know I did because I felt a small cold drop next to my mouth but not close to it(between my cheek and mouth) . The pipette I was using had formed a bubble on the end and when I pushed the air it caused the bubble to pop. I was wearing goggles and gloves and a coat but no mask! Ok here comes my stupidest mistake! The minute I felt the drop or speck(I dont know)I just brushed it off with my sleeve as a reflex and continued with my work ( did not wash it off!!!).I did not perceive it as a risk since it was on skin i jus nonchalantly brushed it off( I did not know I was dealing with infected blood).I am always careful but when the time came to be really careful when dealing with any kind of blood I let myself down!I didnt think about it till I went home that day and the next day reported the incident to occupational health. The doctor examined my skin and in his report wrote that it was a low risk exposure, he examined my skin as intact with no abrasions or cuts. My biggest worry is that I did have tiny bumps on my face but not inflammed acne.Would the viruses have found their way through my skin because of prolonged contact? 1. Would that be non intact skin? 2.What is my risk for contracting HepC/HIV? I am about to lose my mind over this possi