Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Tested at eleven week mark
Jun 18, 2007

Dear Doctor,

I am a young male professor at a university in Lima, Peru. I had sex with a young student (vaginal ONLY). She's 21. I know that this is not ethical, however, when two people like each other, well this usually happens... you probably know. I waited the window period, 3 months, nonetheless, to my surprise, I got PUZZLED about the 3 month mark! I thought that 3 months had passed. Well, as a matter of fact just 11 weeks had just passed. My female student reminded me our sexual encounter because it happened on HER BIRTHDAY! Yes, I guess it was a great memory for her, for me too, but a little worrying, though. I asked the lab. He told me that my exposure was low but not zero. I know that the seroconversion occurs mostly in a 2 - 8 month period. However, I am a little worried about my eleven - month Elisa of third generation's reliability.

I'm pretty sure that your expertise will provide me with a wise piece of advice,

I don't know how to contribute with a donation since I don't live in the USA. Just let me know how what I can do to send you some cash for your noble contribution to worried people like me.

God bless you doctor,

Antonio

(P.S. My eleven - week test was "no reactivo", si no habla español, it was negative)

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hello Antonio,