Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

RN Student Exposure Concern
Jun 5, 2007

Hi, I'm an RN student, nearly graduated. Weird frightening situation. Observing procedure, told not to glove/gown, MD was staring an IV without gloves, shoved a bloody object into my hand with zero notice. I Left room immediately, washed, alerted charge who sent me back in to disinfect the item with wipes...I was accused of lying about the blood, MD apparently written up before for not wearing gloves was the reason, I think the MD.s exact words were "Who else saw this so called blood?". MD ended up testing pt. for everything, MD said she was 'never promiscuous so MD wasn't worried about not wearing gloves' elderly woman from group home. Did not test me, but had incident report with my contact info. Teacher wasn't sure if she was going to file a report, saying it was long was outraged for me. Told me to contact the hospital health office at the hospital to find out why no one let me know pt.s status. Cautioned me to be 'nice' and hoped they would give me the info. How concerned should I be? I was humiliated (attempted, I should say) by the DR as not having enough experience to know that gloves are needed/not needed. I stood my ground, calm and respectful, but was shocked that this good area Magnet Status hospitals charge nurses were so afraid of the Dr. I need to know what my actual risk was, and how YOU think I can best get the results out of the hospital office, though originally they took my cell and said they would call me with them, indicating a wiliness to share I hope. I have nightmares over it. I'm a single Mom, not involved with anyone and HIV- since the