Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Occupational Exposure
Apr 23, 2007

Hi there,

I'll try to make this short(ish). I've been toying with the idea of seeking your counsel for a while since finding you on the web and reading that your transmission was occupational, and I am worried that I may be in the same boat.

Basically, I am a medicine resident who had a percutaneous exposure (hollow bore 25 g needle) from unknown status in early July 06. Did not take PEP, and did not think much of it over the next couple of months. Then in early November started having unusual symptoms, with a number of them continuing to this day. Started with small maculopapular rash on upper arm that lasted 3 weeks. Also had pharyngitis, myalgias, arthralgias and peripheral neuropathy in ulnar distribution bilaterally. No fever or adenopathy. Within a month of these symptoms (Dec) also had nausea, vomiting, fatigue, some weight loss, night sweats, and diarrhea that lasted for a few weeks. In late Dec I noticed desquamation of my soles with a small red rash on the balls of my feet B/L (this was very disconcerting). The problems with my soles lasted about 2 weeks but then came back again in early Feb. Over the past few months Ive also had tender axilla B/L and the neuropathy, sore throat, and arthralgias/myalgias continue to this day. Ive also noticed over the past few months what can be described as increasing sebborheic dermatitis on my face with otitis externa and occasional ear pain, as well as multiple oral lesions (apthous ulcers) whitish areas on my buccal mucosa and variable tongue burning. I also just noticed some posterior cervical lymphadenopathy. I know