Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

It's hard to believe your statistics!! (HIV STATISTICS)
Apr 23, 2007

Hey Dr. Bob, I first read your site about 3 years ago when I was a sophmore in college and worried about a high risk HIV exposure (turned out negative). Today, I am a first year medical student and hope to eventually make half the impact you do on peoples' lives. I do have a question for you though. Often times you'll quote a risk being 1-4 in 10,000 or .5 in 10000 or something like that. To some that may sound equivilant to the probability of getting hit by a bolt of lightening while holding hands with a left handed lithuanian. How can it be true that engaging in unprotected vaginal intercourse with someone known to be HIV positive carries such a low risk that statistically you must have sex 10,000 times before you may EXPECT to become infected. Most happily married couples who have crazy mad grab-the-sheets sex don't do it 10,000 times over their entire lives!

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hi Med. Stud.,