Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Just a comment doc
Mar 8, 2007

I have recently had and STD scare, and it was a bit of an eye opener. I am a combat vet (14 mos, Iraq) and when i returned home i pretty much let myself go. I went on a one year smoking, drinking, and sexing (mostly unprotected) binge. I used to be a prime example of physical fitness and now i can barely run a mile without hacking up a lung. Well, i finally got a wakeup call a few weeks ago when someone i had slept with informed me that she had an STD (HPV). I almost fell down upon hearing the news. I immediately logged on to the internet and began reading more about STDs than i ever really wanted to know, and the more i read about HIV and its early symptoms, the more anxious and nervous i got. I was literally having a panic attack for about three days. I plan on getting tested next week, but after having spent many hours on the internet researching I feel much more secure and confident. Since my little situation i have quit smoking, stopped drinking and stopped having unprotected sex until i find the right person and both of us are tested clean anf ready for a real relationship. My reason for writing this though is that i found you and your website very inspirational, and all things considered you are a very brave, couragous, and noble person. You also have a knack for being really frank and to the point on stupid questions, a trait any soldier can appreciate. Keep up the good work doc, a lot of people admire you. Ill be sending a donation.

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hey Combat Vet,