Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Safer sex with a twist
Dec 23, 2006

hello Dr. Bob,

Being a med student, I always do my best to minimize the risk of catching HIV when I engage in sexual activities.

However, as they put it, shit happens, and I am wondering if I had done something to greatly increse my chance of catching HIV.

It was an one night stand with a guy I picked up from a club, I did ask him about his status and his answer being negative (but who wouldn't say that just to get laid? I guess I just don't trust people very much, otherwise I wouldn't have thought about putting a question up). We engaged in anal sex and I exclusively played the insertive role. I made sure I used plenty of lubes and the condom didn't seem to break as I checked it at the end. The twist was that we shared a hose of the shower head for the purpose of enema before sex, him first, and I followed. As the water was constantly running and I washed the head of the hose with soap, I assumed that any residual rectal secretion would be washed away. I also didn't insert the hose directly into my rectum because my anus felt a bit sore after some fingering, so I only pressed it against my anus.