Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Just need to say this...
Dec 1, 2006

Hi Dr. Bob!

I'm not posting a question, just simply writing down some thoughts I need to get out of my head.

There was a post from a nurse a couple of days ago that really hit the proverbial nail on the head for me. I too am a nurse and I love my job (90% of the time!). Being a nurse I have witnessed so much of the good, bad and ugly; I have been present in some of the most important moments in my patients lives. I have seen people walk through our doors with a mild pain only to find out they will be lucky to make it through the next 30 days. I have cried with them, sat with them through the night and comforted their families afterward.

I know there are much worse things in this world than an HIV diagnosis. But that doesn't stop me from being terrified. In 2 weeks I will have my first HIV test and I have good reason to be worried (unprotected sex with boyfriends in the past). I have been married for 5 1/2 years and thinking about children, but of course when your blood work is taken in the first trimester they request an HIV test and I would prefer to do it on my own terms. So that means making the appointment and getting tested before I become pregnant (You know taking responsibility for my own body..yada, yada, yada).

Long story short...I am worried and scared and dealing with this by myself. I'd love a few words of encouragement and maybe some of that 'good-luck karma' of yours Dr. Bob:)

Thanks for reading.

K:)

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hello K,