Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Bleeding Gums and Toothbrush
Nov 2, 2006

Hi Dr. Bob, First of all, I'd just like to thank you so much for your involvement in this site. You seem to put so many people's minds at ease, and your own approach to life is one that we should all have. Plus, as a musician myself (guitar, mandolin, drums), respect for being such a kickass pianist!

Anyways, my question is this. About six weeks ago, I had unprotected sex with a stranger. I know it was stupid and irresponsible of me, I can't bear to look at myself in the mirror. I was clean, and she swore to me that she was too. However, I began to have symptoms about three weeks afterwards, night sweats, sore throat, weight loss. I've never been so stressed.

I know you've answered symptoms questions about a thousand times. However, I haven't found an answer to this one before. Does the sore throat associated with ARS present itself immediately after exposure, or does it take a couple of weeks? I've heard conflicting reports. I don't mind if you don't want to answer this question, my next one is far more important.

I told my brother about my potential risk, to get him to stay away from my toothbrush/razor etc. What does he do?? He uses my toothbrush. I've been suffering from bleeding gums, although he never has. I used the brush at 11 am, he used it at 8pm and I had rinsed it after I'd used it. Would HIV, assuming I was infected, which I'm praying I'm not, last that long outside the body?