Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

HIV or not?
Oct 3, 2006

Hello I guess it would sound strange but I'm a 5th year medical student from Europe.. I know it's a long post.. but I hope u read it so u could help me..

About 3 months ago- 10th july.. a sex worker gave me oral sex. Please don't lecture me.. I was really depressed (my gf in the last 3 years had left me) and very very drunk.. I don't remember much.. I remember we didn't kiss.. I used a condom.. However.. it's a condom that she gave me.. I don't know if she was with others before me that night (I guess she was).. Her hands touched my genitals and the groin area.. I don't remember having any wounds.. I know the odds for hiv are not high.. However..

7-10 days later.. I begun to have burning sensation in my right groin near the ASIS.. especially at night when cold.. 2 days later.. I began to feel the same pain also in the center of my abdomen (just right to the umbilicus) and in my right upper abdomen. Sometimes I also felt it in the same areas of my back.. the pain wasn't so bad (about 3/10).. and I decided to ignore it.. I didn't notice any ulcer or rash.. no urgency, frequency or dysuria.. no discharge.. no fever.. no lymphadenopathy..

4 weeks later.. I went to my doctor.. CBC, chemistry, hepatitis serology and urine stick were all normal.. The pain continued..

at 6 weeks I begun to have a low grade fever, malaise, anorexia, and mild diarrhea.. I went to std clinic- hiv serology, hepatitis, VDRL and urine Chlamydia were all negative.. The symptoms continued..