Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Thank you and information requiered
May 26, 2006

Dr. Franscino

I am a 4th yr medical student here in USA, who by all means need to not only thank you this site for the information provided in this website, but also I need to admit that there's more about HIV prevention and treatment that I really dont know.

I have been ask several times about the posibility of getting HIV from oral sex, curiously by people that are receiving what we called in lame terms "blow job". I have been searching the web for concrete information about this matter, after all I want to give my future patients accurate information. This website help me a lot to clarify certains doubts, still, I just want to make sure, oral sex without a barrier is a risk factor to contract HIV, at lower rate than penetration...but who is at more risk a person who gets the "blow job" or the person who is receiving it?

If you can clarify that doubt for me I will be more than greatful, and please can you refer me to another webs with consise information about HIV?

Thank you for your attetion and cooperation, sincerely; Elias

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hello Elias,

I'm glad you are searching out accurate information to pass on to others! Your assumption that oral sex is much less risky than penetration sex is right on target.