Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Is this legal?
May 24, 2006

Dr Bob,

I am a physician who recently diagnosed a prostitute with HIV/AIDS. Whilst she won't admit it I suspect she is a drug user as well. She is 25, with a high viral load, she claims she takes her meds (I think she misses some due to her drug habit). I feel that I am losing an uphill battle in that she will continue to become resistant to meds and keep acquiring either new strains of the virus (through IDU or unprotected sex) or OI's. She works privately out of a runned down apartment - which in itself is entirely legal in this city. I give her extra condoms and when I ask her if she uses them 100% of the time she says 'mostly'. I asked her what she means by this and she says 'sometimes I don't when the client is willing to pay a lot extra. However, is it legal for her to practise unsafe sex when she is knowingly has AIDS, let alone HIV. How would you proceed?

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hello,