Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

English Boy Who Loves You, Help Me Please
Apr 27, 2006

Dear Dr Bob,

First I should say that you are one of the funniest doctors alive, and you convince me that Americans can't be as stupid as television projects them to be :) I really need your advice even though my exposure was very low; I'm hoping for some words of comfort rather than a risk analysis.

I had protected sex with a prostitute a few weeks. The condom stayed on all time and I dont believe it broke. The only problem is that I keep thinking about HIV, probably because I have never done this kind of thing before.

I have had a rash that is symmetrical beneath each armpit that lasted only two days as I treated it with hydrocortisone cream. Would this kind if cream heal a HIV rash? I think the rash was created by a new deoderant, but I tested the new deoderant on my arm and it didn't create a rash on that part of my body.

The other symptom is intermittent diarrhea: one day I will have it in the morning, then I will be fine for a couple of days. Why would acute HIv diarrhea only occur in the morning and would it be intermittent? I hvae had no fever, no sore throat and no swollen lympth nodes.

I know these are silly question Dr Bob, but you have no idea who much comfort your words could give me. I wanted to take a HIV test but my local clinic refused, saying combe back in two months as its pointless before then. But I'm not sure who to cope with the anxiety until then. Could anxiety cause intermittent diahrrea? I've lost a few pounds too I think even though I have been eating just as much as normal.

Please answer me Dr Bob.

Love James xxxx