Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Extremely confused! I am raising money for your foundation!
Mar 17, 2006

Hello Dr. Frascino

You are an absolutely amazing person, I idolize you!! I would really like to hear you play the piano sometime. I am a guitarist and want to go on tour to raise money for your foundation to help out as much as I can.

My question to you is, when a man receives unprotected oral sex and has protected vaginal sex (condom did not fail) the risk is minimal at best, I know getting tested is a personal choice but does this sort of act really need an HIV test? even if the person I was involved with said she wasn't infected? I'm just scared she may not know she is infected, I was only with her once. So in your expert opinion, do you feel that this warrants a test at all? I think if I knew whether or not a test was actually needed or not I would feel much better, I don't think I've placed myself in a huge risk. Also is HPV very common through receiving oral sex? Via mouth to genitals? I have heard many different things. Thank you for your time! I will be sending a donation for sure! and will raise as much money as I can and donate it all to your foundation!

Sincerely, Todd

P.s I have the WOO down to you think a HOO can be added?

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hello Todd,

How much risk any person is willing to accept varies from individual to individual. Even with minimal or "nearly nonexistent" risk, some folks absolutely feel they need a test. Most, however, do not.