Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

What do you think about making HIV testing manditory and about HIV education??
Jan 13, 2006

Hey Dr. Bob,

Im a college student who had a recent scare. After this scare, ive been thinking alot about HIV education. Growing up, i never remember learning about any of the signs of HIV, yet only learned "not to have sex without a condom." I was thinking that HIV education should be manditory for highschool and college students. Many people go years without realizing they may have HIV, and dont understand the signs behind the infection. I figure with knowledge about the symptoms, people will be more aware of the nessacity to get tested after unprotected sex. I was wondering what you think about hiv education, and if you believe it should be taught in school? I understand it may cause more people to get WW, but isnt that better than having HIV spread? I also would have loved to known about PCR (I believe thats the name) after my incident, and i would have prefered that to going through hell for months. Also, i was wondering what you think about making HIV testing manditory, for everyone. I know its a touchy subject, but i bet if people knew they had HIV, they would be safe about their sexual experiences, and it could reduce the spread of the virus. I understand its a persons right to keep their medical history to themshelves, but doesnt a person in risk of exposure have the right to a healthy life? In my previous exposure, i chose to wear a condom, and the girl promised she didnt have any STD's, and removed the condom from my penis. She told me "live a little".... well, i contracted 2 std's... and all i can th