Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

You Have Been Rusty Lately: Medical Textbook ARS symtpoms + Double Donation
Oct 19, 2005

Dear Dr. Bob:

You are getting rusty lately. You answer all these questions about the Vatican, but lately youve gone out of your way to avoid highly technical HIV questions. Double or nothing. Im planning on donating $75 to your fund (Im a graduate assistant). If however, you judge (and you must be fair about this), that my question was not difficult, then Ill make it twice as much = $140 instead of $75.

Here is what happened: September 2, I had protected vaginal sex with a hooker. I have read your Forum; thus, I used a latex condom with water-based lube. Condom did not break. The only mistake, that I fear will cost me my life is: she performed oral sex on me for about 30 to 45 seconds. I feel that this has destroyed my life.

And then the symptoms came, and they are MEDICAL TEXTBOOK ARS SYMPTOMS. You cannot deny that. About 7 to 10 days after the contact, I started feeling slightly achy in my left groin and left pelvic area. It lasted about 10 days, went away, and then came back. I could have sworn that I felt lumps, but I am not sure that they were lymph nodes. They could have been part of normal anatomy. I suspect that they might not have been lymph nodes, because the pain was always worst when I would be sitting down.

Does this sound like ARS to you?