Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

How long after transmission can one transmit???
Sep 30, 2005

Dr Bob, you are an exceptional person by any measure. I am a med student and we are currently studying AIDS / HIV.

This site is fantastic for providing me with information about it.

My question is out of curiosity but I thought it could fit into the realms of this discussion forum.

OK, let's say that transmission does occur from a positive female to a negative male. So the male becomes positive after that event. I realise he doesn't produce antibodies for b/w 1 and 3 months, but we're not talking about the transmission of antibodies, we're talking about the transmission of HIV itself. So how long after will he have detectable levels of HIV in his blood and semen, at a level high enough to potentially cause transmission again.

Sorry for the technicality of this question.

BTW, why do you sometimes call Bush 'Dubya'. I am not American so forgive me if it is a native joke.

I think he is foolish in his decision making too!

Luv ya - you are my hero.

Hope Steve doesn't mind you having so many admirers!

Jennifer

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hi Jennifer,