Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Well Worriers STOP Worrying and just be WELL
Sep 24, 2005

Dear Dr. Bob,

I am so happy to finally be able to send this note J

I have been given a second chance I truly feel blessed

Im a 22-year-old woman and I had been worrying about my HIV status for over 2 years. I had my heart broken and tried to fix it with sex, it took about a year to recover from that and a year to be able to face the possible repercussions. In the year that I was out there I had sex with maybe 14 different men maybe 7 unprotected but only two ejaculated in men everyone else I had unprotected sex with it only happen one or two time ( dangerous lifeI know).I tried to rationalize my terrible behavior my comparing myself o my friends who believe it or not was living and still are more dangerously than I was. Once I got my mind right and began to appreciate myself and began to realize what I had been risking (my life and time with my child) I began to fear that it was to late and was extremely afraid of the HIV test and what the results might be. I had countless number of anxiety attacks and would sometime slip into depression thinking about it. I would look up HIV statistics for the city I live in (ranks 3rd), and would hear how high the rates are for young African American women like myself and want to curl up and die. I would look at my daughter and want to cry realizing that I had thought so little of not only myself but her as \well as to put myself at risk like that repeatedly for nothing for people I can barely remember. One night during one of my anxiety periods I stumbled on to your site and it relieved some of the anxiety