Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Occupational Exposure...In Prison?
Aug 22, 2005

Hi Dr. Bob,

I have a question that's sort of a spin on the occupational exposure issue. Usually it seems that transmission of HIV through occupational exposure means needlesticks/contact with blood in a medical setting. My question is, do you have any data, or know of any confirmed cases, of professionals being infected with HIV in a prison or mental health facility?

The reason I ask: I am a first-year doctoral student in psychology, and all my life I've had a tremendous desire to study violent behavior. Now that I've started school, I feel I have a unique opportunity to do this, one I may never have again - we have access to jails, youth detention centers, etc. This would be great, except for one major issue: I have an anxiety disorder that often manifests as an irrational fear of contracting HIV. I've worked diligently on this with my own therapist, but I'm currently working in a community mental-health facility where patients have been known to kick, scratch, bite, claw, etc., and I know if something like that were to happen to me, I'd be crippled with anxiety until I could get tested. Likewise, if I were to study violent offenders in a prison setting, and one of them attacked me, I'd probably have a nervous breakdown. The thing is, Doc, my disorder has limited my life incredibly up to this point. Fortunately, though, I dealt with it enough to get into grad school, and now I want to make the most of my experience there. I believe I'd be very good as a forensic psychologist, and I'm ashamed and frustrated that, once again, my disorder could wind up no