Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

I wanna woo hoo
Jul 14, 2005

Dr. Bob,

I am a 21 year old female... To make it short, my bf and I split up and he had sex with another girl (I did not know this when we got back together). Anyway, I have had 2 neg HIV test, but people are telling me eventhough they were almost 3 months after my bf and I got back together, the test are not conclusive because we continued to have unprotected sex after we first got back together. Anyway... I have been breaking out in hives for over 2 months, would this be related to HIV in anyway? If the hives were caused by an HIV infection, would HIV show up in the blood test? I am a registered respiratory therapist and have some understanding of the immune system.... if chronic hives were due to a viral infection what type of hypersensitivity would this be? We have pretty much rulled out any food or drug allergy. I really haven't had any other symptoms, only a sore throat for a few days. I was also given one pack of steroids for the hives, and given a steroid shot at the hospital, I know that corticosteroids can suppress the immune system. But would only one pack of steroids affect your HIV test? My bf has not tested yet but I ordered 2 home HIV test, I did not realize until after I bought them that they were not FDA approved! Should we still use them? Thank you so much for your time. I just wanted to say that I have a great deal of respect for you. I know that you make jokes about republicans a lot and sometimes I agree (eventhough I am a republican) I just wanted you to know that not all republicans agree with all of Pres. Bush's views, such as gay marriage! Thanks v