Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Living with an HIV+ person/Blow Job
Mar 25, 2001

I am a freshman in college and next year, I had been planning on getting an apartment with a friend of mine. She has been dating this guy we met at a club a couple of months ago and yesterday she tells me that he is HIV+. She said she talked to some doctors and clinics and they said she most likely has HIV also, but it would take 6 months to know for sure. I'm not too worried about sharing the rest of the apartment, but what about the bathroom? We will be using the same shower and everything. She also says that even though her boyfriend didn't tell her until after they had had sex a great number of times that he was HIV+, she still loves him and is going to stay together with him. He will be spending lots of time at our apartment too. Initially, I told her I was okay with it and I still wanted to live with her next year, but she told me to really think it over and decide whether I still want to get the apartment with her. Now I am having doubts. Am I at risk? If I do end up living with her, what can I do to ensure my own safety with my health? Also, I gave a blowjob(didn't swallow and no cuts on my mouth) to a guy who I doubt would have the virus, but all the same, am I at risk because of that?

Response from Mr. Kull

I understand your concern. It is important that you learn as much as you can about HIV transmission and prevention because that will provide you with the knowledge and power to be supportive and caring to your friend. Let's keep in mind that you don't know if your friend is HIV infected yet, so let's not be hasty!