Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

The most desperate year of my life.Please help!
Dec 22, 2004

Dear Dr.Bob,

It is not enough to be a doctor.First thing first you must be a human being and it seems it is quite difficult.Thanks God you are! I ran into a lot of trouble this year because of doctors.I studied a Master abroad and I came back home more than exhausted and depressed.The medical tests indicated a good organical health, but psychologically I was down.I visited a psychiatrist and she was the one who "brought up my spirit".After a test of my brain activity(I do not exactly know its name in English), she told me that my brain was in an acute condition.That was all.My depression took the form of panic attacks and I thought I was crazy.After three other doctors, I found one that with the help of drugs, could finally make me slowly come back. However, in the meantime, overlapping this situation, I had to face a lot of conflicts between my girlfriend-I've been with for 3 years- and my parents.The outcome was that from March to September I broke up and reconciled with her for several times.All my life was a mess - depression and fear. There are 2 months now since we only talk to each other, but do not meet.After so much pressure, I felt the need for a change.One element of the change in my life, was heaving sex with a sex-worker.I had protected vaginal, oral sex and about 30 seconds of unprotected cunnilingus.Now,heaving to think of another possible health problem that I might have, makes me hardly bare this situation.I've done a 7 week Elisa and it was negative. As I know your words are most reliable, please tell me whether a 3 months