Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

History Taking Question
May 24, 2004

Dr. Frascino,

I'm a somewhat regular reader of your forum and think that you do an excellent job. A few years ago I was a worried well and this forum really helped me keep things in perspective. I'm currently a first year medical student and today we were discussing how to assess a patient's risk for HIV infection. The doctor speaking to us talked about IV drug use, sexual preference, and sex with prostitutes. I was surprised that they didn't even mention asking about condom usage. So I asked if we should ask about condom usage and they implied that candom usage is irrelevant to risk. I'm not sure if the people who spoke to us today are aware of the anxiety an HIV test can cause. I feel that health care providers should only encourage people to take the test if they have put themselves at risk by having unprotected sex. If they have protected sex it really doesn't matter who they are having sex with. Am I correct to think this?? I know this probably isn't a question that you can answer in the forum, but I was wondering how you would suggest to take a history in order to give advice on whether or not a patient should take an HIV test. Thanks again for the wonderful service that you provide. Like I said 3 years ago I was sure that I had been infected because I had the flu about 4 weeks after I had sex with someone that I didn't know.

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hello First-Year Med.-Stud.,