Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

alcoholism and risky behavior
Apr 14, 2004

Dear Dr. Frascino,

I am a resident (medical) and recently tested negative after three months for an exposure with a sex worker. I can't stress enough to everyone how important it is to get tested despite how scary it is. Your kind words and compassion are truly heroic. You will never truly understand how meaningful your approach is to those of us with such irrational fears. I rarely see MDs with the dignity that you respond to each message. Especially in these times of the HMOs. I felt that the one important part of my experience is that it led me to understand or expose my deeper problems with alcoholism. I have always been the "model" professional and as an MD we often think it always the other person's problem...never ours...so easy to be judgemental. I realized that thru many of my actions...from discord in my personal life, the use of sex workers, getting arrested for a dwi, among other risky behaviors all stemmed from a disease...alcoholism. I think in our country there is such a stigma associated with entities such as HIV and alcoholism that so many of us live in denial and fear...especially those of us who are made to feel as if we are better than others. I hate it so much when religious entities and politicians use these diseases to teach lessons and predicate upon peoples fear for their own deviant goals. We are all human beings and these are diseases that afflict all of us the same. It is high time that we seperate morality from medicine and let people get treated for HIV without fear of what others th