Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Doc Bobby - I need you
Feb 22, 2004

Doc Bobby, you have helped me so much just by reading your answers and giving positive yet real feedback to people on this site. I have expressed my gratitude as a donation of only 100 though I would like to give much more, I'm a student.

My question is kind of complicated. I will give you the rundown. On Dec 14 2003 I had a one night stand with this girl with a condom but I performed uprotected oral sex too- (something I have never done before and will ever do again...it was the single biggest mistake of my life) On Dec 17 I had unprotected sex with my then girlfriend. A week after the one night stand, the one night stand girl calls me and tells me she is HIV positive. At that point as I am now, I was so scared, but not at all for me but for my innocent girlfriend to be implicated into my mistake. I have just tested today for my 8 week results (will test at 12 weeks). But here is the worst news. My girlfriends doctor confirmed to her that she has Chlymidia - she caught it from me - who I caught from this mystery one night stand girl. I am a bad person and know one can change that I know. But here is my question:

People who have both Chlymidia and HIV transmit the disease to others easier. What risk is this beautiful innocent girl under for contracting HIV from that 72 hour period that I possibly did. She got Chlamydia...does that mean her chances of being infected greater? Do they go hand in hand? Chlamydia is a bacteria and HIV is a virus -does that make a difference? Please I need your advice. Thank you so much

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hi,