Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

HIV infection through daily life
Jan 7, 2004

Dear Sir,

I would be most grateful if you could answer my queries! I am a student living in a dormitory and I am very scared that I may contact HIV as we share toilets! Recently, I am bothered about an incident. After crapping I ran out of toilet paper and so I ventured out and took some water from the wash basin(at my office), washed my left hand with soap and washed my anus with my left hand!I am a bit scared about the scenario in which, my left hand could have touched the wash basin, used by many other people, and if any disease could be transmitted to my anus!

How long can the HIV virus survive in the everyday environment!I was told by someone that it dies immediately on exposure to sunlight!

I am paranoid about HIV! What if one touches the handle of the toilet door, and by mistake touched the eye! Can the virus survice for long time in the enviroment! I perused the web to search for information on this issue , but couldnot find any definitive answer!

Response from Dr. Frascino

Hello,

First off, I will agree with you: you are definitely paranoid about HIV.