Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

My Story
Dec 1, 2003

Hey Bob, first I would like to say thank you very much. I have been visiting this web site for 3 months now and it has been the only thing keeping me close to sane. I am a very educated professional, but not a Doctor of Medicine. With all of my years of education I never realized how much I did not know about aids and other STDs. About three months ago I had a drunken stupid encounter with a female I met on a flight. To make it short our flight was cancelled due to weather and I she came to my airline funded hotel room. I had unprotected oral sex with her, both ways. The next day I woke up and realize how stupid my actions were. I will not lie it was a good time, but 15 minutes of fun is not worth 3 months of total hell. The day following the act I had a sore throat that lasted three days. The next week I had diarrhea for about three days. After the diarrhea subsided the sore throat came back and shortly after that the tip of my penis started burning when I would be sitting. At this point I automatically figured I must have gonorrhea or some other STD. After these thoughts I started having night sweats. After about three weeks of freaking out and drinking heavily I got tested for STDs, all but HIV. When I went to get tested the STD questionnaire asked a bunch of questions one of which was do you have night sweats. I ignored the question because I was there for NGU related reasons. On my way home from the clinic I started thinking about the night sweats and remembered seeing them as a symptom of HIV. I went immediately from happy I got