Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Insulted by CDC for transmission question
Sep 8, 2003

Dr Bob,

I know how busy you are, I have been visiting this website now for almost 2 months. You do wonderful work. Mr. Kull is gone? You are now busier than ever Please, please, please answer my question!!! (how selfish am I?) This is somewhere around my 6-7 try. I am going insane and have talked to the CDC AIDS hotline twice (the first time a little southern woman said, I wouldnt know anything about cocaine use. Very snotty and made me feel chastised) the second time a knowledgeable sounding woman gave me a very different answer, but first my question 4th of July my husband and I stupidly did some cocaine with friends, snorting only-I would NEVER mess with needles and neither would my hubby, but some of the friends I do not know well, meaning I would have no clue if they are HIV + or not. Have not done cocaine in a very long time and its just not worth what I am doing to myself (not to mention my marriage) right now! Driving myself and my hubby nuts! Anyway, when it was my turn, I went immediately after a friends girlfriend (who does copious amounts of cocaine, snorting only to the best of my knowledge). The dollar bill was wet (with what I will guess was snot) when I used it after it was up her nose, my husband said no ones nose was bleeding. What is my risk of transmission here? Do I need to be tested? It has been two months and I dont know if I can make the last one The next morning when I blew my nose, there were smudges of pink/red, not actually a bloody nose, but miniscule amounts on the Kleenex