Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

HIV Time Frame?
Jun 24, 2002

I am new to the whole "Gay" thing, and I am educating myself on HIV for preventative reasons (of course) This is my question/problem... How can you tell if someone is infected and actually telling the truth? From what I am to understand 3-6 months is the time frame of which you know you are infected, right? So if you are infected you wont know for 3-6 months? Talk about anxiety and panic attacks! Although I have never been with a man sexually how can people live like that, straight or gay? I don't get it.

Response from Mr. Kull

First, let me address the "telling if someone is infected" thing. The only way you can truly know if someone is infected is if the tell you that they are. Otherwise, it's just a guessing game. That's why prevention people were saying early in the epidemic that one should proceed with safer sex practices AS IF one's sexual partners were infected with HIV. I'm not sure how well this works (how anxiety provoking, to walk around thinking that everyone is infected with HIV!), but the idea behind it is valid.

Here's another unfortunate twist. People infected with HIV are probably most infectious in the first few months of infection when viral levels peak. This is the period when people generally do not know that they are infected, which probaly accounts for a large number of transmission cases.