Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Safe Sex and HIV PreventionSafe Sex and HIV Prevention

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

I am not satisfied with my negative result. Maybe HIV-2?
May 22, 2002

Ok, this is probably the most bizzare story that you will ever hear reguarding HIV, but here it goes. Six years ago, when I was a freshman in high school, this kid was trying to get me to drink from his cup. I wont get too detailed, but being that I was drinking from a cup identical to his, I ended up accidentally dranking from his. (He actually tricked me). Well I was a little freaked because I had a big cut in my mouth. Then, honest to God, not more than 2 minutes later, one of my friends told me that his Ex-girlfriend had AIDS, and I heard that from many other people later. I almost had a nervous breakdown. At that time, I had no background info on HIV or symptoms. However, sure enough I did get sick 1 week later with flu and mono like symptoms. Honestly, I have been tired every single day after since I first got sick, even to this day. No other symptoms, just fatigue. I fall asleep instantly and have to sleep during the day sometimes. Anyways, a few years later, my aunt bought me a life insurance policy and I had to take a urine HIV test. Even though they never contacted me, I think I failed it because my aunt kept telling me that she was unhappy with the policy, and then even my mother kept mentioning things to me such as "I think you need some bloodwork done" and "Something about proteins in urine". So, at that time, I am like positive that I am infected and to scared to get bloodwork. Just last month though, I finally gathered up enough courage to go and get tested, and my HIV tes