Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

HIV Drug ResistanceHIV Drug Resistance

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

1 day of weird work schedule
Nov 22, 2008

I am a retail store manager and take Atripla. the day after thanksgiving my store will be open midnight until 10 pm the next day. I usually take my Atripla at 12am every night and have been on it for 5 months. I am working midnight until 7 am then coming back at 7 pm to work until midnight...so that makes ideal dosing pretty impossible. It does generally make me very drowsy at some point so I am reluctant to take it right at the beginning of my busiest day of the year. So should I take it several hours before and then resume my regular midnight time when I get off work the following day...or gradually extend my dose by an hour every night until then so I can take it before I go to bed at 7am in between shifts and then re-start my regular dosing that night??? Sorry this is such a long question, but I just don't know which is the best solution.

Response from Dr. Sherer

Either option seems like a lot of difficulty for one prolonged work day. I don't like the first option, i.e. take the meds at 7pm the evening before Thanksgiving, and then again at midnight the next night, because it includes a lapse of 17 hours between doses - too long! On the other hand, I like the first option because it is only a single simple switch, which seems fitting to accommodate only one day of a change in schedule.