Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

HIV Drug ResistanceHIV Drug Resistance

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Varied times of doses
Sep 8, 2008

Please help me??? I'm a registered nurse working for a prison in a country which has very little HIV management experience.In this prison, we have one male prisoner who is about to initiate HAART for the first time, and my team leader is of the impression that as nurses, we can provide his once daily dose at times that suit the staff, as long as he gets it once daily as prescribed.He's about to start therapy in about 2 days and I'm terrified that this attitude towards timing of doses may result in resistance...at no fault of the patient.Is there any advice you could provide me with that will help to change this attitude,or has it become acceptable practice to allow for varied timing of dose administration? (I recently moved here from a country with far more experience in HIV treatment, care and support).Thank you very much, and bless you. Registered Nurse, New Zealand

Response from Dr. Sherer

I can confirm that you and the patient do have reasons for concern if his once daily dose is not taken at the same time every day, leading to intervals that exceed 24 hours. The international standard of care for once daily dosing is to take the medications at the same time every day, and for good reason: adequate drug levels for all members of the once daily regimens are established based on the 24 hour interval. After 1-2 hours over that interval, sub-therapeutic drug levels may result with some regimens.