Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

HIV Drug ResistanceHIV Drug Resistance

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

how long can i go without medicine
Mar 21, 2008

I've been positive for 12 years. always undetectable,always the same medicine.Insurance is gone and now i'm a truck driver.Is there a way i can get a prescription without the expensive lab work. I can pay the doctor,and manage the medicine through adap or this other insurance I'm looking at.But I owe lab corp a thousand dollars for one uncovered blood work.I'm thinking I could get married to a girl I know who has insurance through her job.Would that help?I only get home every 2 months,that means by the time I'm covered,then go back for blood work, and then go see the doc,this could take forever.my pills run out in 2 weeks.how long before I start to get sick?

Response from Dr. Sherer

You have a long term problem (and so does our country, when a situation like this can exist), and you have a short term problem.