Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
  Breaking News: FDA Approves Triumeq, New Once-Daily Combination Pill

Ask the Experts About

HIV Drug ResistanceHIV Drug Resistance

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

salvage therapy
Feb 19, 2007

I am a doctor based in zambia who treats HIV pateints and i have been placed in a quagmire of sorts. i recently saw ayoung man of 15 years age who is on ARV for close to 10 years. he unfortunately is resistant to a whole range of drugs . he had both genotype and phenotype resistance tests done in the USA. he is currently on boosted crixivan, syochrin andzerit. his recenr cd4 on 29/19/06 was 15/ul.he contnues to deteriorate. he is susceptible to the following. tipranavir, indinavir. saquinavir. darunavir, stavudine. these with maximal responses. the others including fosamprenavir, efavirenz he is susceptible to and has reduced response to lopinavir, amprenavir, tenoforvir, abacavir, didanosine, zidovudine. the rest are completely resistant.i need to know what next. the availability of most drugs is impossible. and the costs are too high.

Response from Dr. Sherer

This is a difficult situation that is increasingly common in resource poor settings. This young man has had more access to ART and diagnostic tests than most, but the information may well be incomplete and out of date by this time. Complex treatment courses and resistance patterns are difficult to address in this forum, because it's rarely possible to convey all of the information that I would need to make a completely well informed decision. Hence I will offer some suggestions for you and your patient to consider.