Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: TheBodyPRO.com Covers AIDS 2014

Ask the Experts About

HIV Drug ResistanceHIV Drug Resistance

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

What can I expect?
Jul 16, 2006

Hi. I was diagnosed with AIDS in July 2005, and started Sustiva and Truvada in August 2005. My CD4 was 191 and was given AIDS diagnosis because of CDC guidelines, but had no opportunistic infections. I am now at CD4 243 and my Viral Load is undetecable last three testing periods. I am still learning, so what can I expect? How long will I be able to stay on Sustiva and Truvada? How long might I live? I am 43 years old, male in good body shape. I suffer some serious fatigue at times. Depression has become an issue and I take an anti-depressant. I know you aren't a fortune teller, but the truth about what I can expect for the rest of my life would be great to know. Thanks much!

Response from Dr. Sherer

In one study, two thirds of patients on Truvdada and Sustiva were still doing well, with undetectable viral load and rising CD4 cell counts, after three years. I have patients in my practice who have done well on this regimen for over five years.

A positive feature in your history is that you have never had an opportunistic infection; this puts you in a group who have a lower and slower risk of developing an opportunistic infection or virologic failure compared to one who has had an opportunistic infection.

As you may have read in this column many times before, the most important thing that you can do to give yourself the best chance is to take every dose as it is prescribed, and never miss doses.

It has been estimated that a 35 year old male in good health with new HIV and a positive initial response to ART, as you have had, may have a normal life expectancy.