Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

HIV Drug ResistanceHIV Drug Resistance

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Normal Life Expectancy?
Jan 14, 2006

First, I should tell you that each and every one of the professionals on this site that work so hard to add a voice of reason to an otherwise very confusion situation are worth your weight in gold. Thank you.

I am a 40 year old man newly diagnosed with HIV. I am a professional; dont smoke cigarettes, and only drink in moderation. My Doctor does not feel it is time to begin medication because my numbers are all near normal. I dont NOT have co infections such as Hep. A, B or C and I dont have diabetes (thank goodness).

I am the type of person who is extremely able to adhere to medications and have access to an excellent HIV Doctor and medication. Do you think it is reasonable to assume that can live a normal life span (providing I dont get hit in the head with a coconut or other circumstance beyond HIV)? I read conflicting things on life span from 10 years to a normal life span. Please tell me what prognoses for the future that you would tell one of your patients in a similar circumstance. Thank you and look forward to your answer.

Response from Dr. Sherer

I tell my patients who have just been found to have HIV that there IS a chance of a normal life expectancy, and that that chance has been getting greater with each passing year, as the risk of antiretroviral therapy failures has decreased in the past 10 years.