Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

HIV Drug ResistanceHIV Drug Resistance

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

4 nukes and resistance question
Oct 27, 2004

I have a 2 part question. I am a resident and have a patient with these meds on admission: Stavudine, abacavir, didanosine, tenofovir and nelfinavir. Now my first question is if there's a rational to give 4 nukes...instead of adding an NNRTI. 2nd question: On admission this patient was taking 1250mg nelfinavir BID but another resident wrote the order for 650mg po BID which was detected by a pharmacist only 8 days later. Of course this underdosing is causing me to be concern about resistance (and us being "responsible" for it) How fast can these occur? Is there a general rule or pattern for underdosing vs resistance? Is there some data/resources that you could recommend me to read on this issue to help me understand that not so clear issue of resistance. Any insight on this would be greatly appreciated Thank you

Response from Dr. Sherer

My hope is that you called the patient's physician when he entered the hospital, in addition to sending this email, as that physician is the only person who can answer your question specifically. There may be reasons for this choice that I am unaware of. If you did not, that's an error of the same magnitude as the mistaken dose.