Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Oral Health and HIVOral Health and HIV

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Stress...and more stress...
Dec 24, 1999

I stumbled upon your site in search of the mysterious cause of what i now know to be "chelitis", a problem i have been fighting for 2 years now, i'm a 30 yr old female...at first i thought it was cold sores but know now otherwise...or is it a mix of the two? Could you please tell at what stage (years wise) in the HIV progression do these oral problems begin to occur...I am summoning up the courage to go to a doctor for treatment and testing. I desperately need to know how far I have let this advance. Would caprylic acid treat this condition? (as it neutralizes yeast)..What should I eliminate in my diet to aid this problem? The chelitis has progressed from a monthly outbreak to a permanent redness and alternating soreness on either side of my lips all the time...and becoming very noticeable...help...

Response from Dr. Reznik

First, lets discuss angular cheilitis, which is a cracking or fissuring at the corners of the mouth. Whereas it is true that we do see this manifestation in association with HIV disease, it is also seen with Riboflavin (B2) deficiency, people who have ill-fitting dentures and have lost the vertical dimension of occlusion, and people who habitually lick the corners of their mouths. Bottom line: Angular cheilitis does not equal HIV infection!