Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Oral Health and HIVOral Health and HIV

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

necrotizing ulcerative periodontitis
Jun 21, 2001

Dear Dr. Reznik, I am a physician in Chicago. - I had a sexual encounter with a woman one year ago and developed a roseola-like rash the following week. Since that time, I have tested negative for HIV by EIA, western blot, pcr, and viral culture. About six months ago, I developed severe pain in my teeth and along my gingiva. I have also been experiencing recession of my gingiva, loose teeth, and nocturnal bleeding. My periodontist and dentist characterized the gingival recession as chemical erosion. I must admit that I have been using listerine three to four times per day, but I doubt this is the cause of my problems. I have even prescribed myself a course of peridex and clindamycin for ten days without resolution of my problems. Could you please shed some light on my problem for me. I fear that I have been infected with a HIV subtype which is not picked up by current ELISA tests. Could there be another reason for my constellation of signs and symptoms?

Response from Dr. Reznik