Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Oral Health and HIVOral Health and HIV

Rollover images to visit our other forums!

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

From HCW to HCW
Jul 11, 2000

Hello Dr. Reznik. I first would like to commend you on your ongoing efforts to help those in need. The world needs more people like you. I am a dental hygiene student. I realize that there are not as many cases of HIV-2 in the U.S. as there are of HIV-1, but in your experience, have you noticed any clinical differences in the oral lesions of the two? Thank you in advance for your time. Sandi

Response from Dr. Reznik

Dear Sandi:

In order to best answer this question, I am including an abstract presentation from the recent 4th International Oral AIDS Conference held in South Africa:

Epidemiology of HIV1 and HIV2 associated oral lesions C. F NDIAYE*, A. BA*, A. GAYE FALL* C. CRITCHLOW* (* University of Dakar – Dental Clinic of Fann Hospital, ** University of Washington – Seattle – Department of Public Health)

We are proposing a study of epidemiology and determinant of oral lesions among HIV1 seropositive, HIV2 seropositive and seronegative heterosexual women and men in Africa, West Africa. Oral pathology is a significant cause of morbidity among those infected with HIV, with from 20 % to over 70 % of HIV infected individuals being reported to develop significant oral pathology at some point during the course of HIV disease.

Objectives :

describe and compare the prevalence and nature of oral lesions in relation to HIV type

Determine the role of immunosuppression and other potential risk factors which may be associated with occurrence of these lesions (factors to be assessed include page, gender, pregnancy, nutritional status, smoking , alcohol consumption, oral hygiene and access to dental care