Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Nutrition and ExerciseNutrition and Exercise

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Quitting trizivir
Nov 5, 2012

Dear Nelson, I tested positive for HIV in march 2000. I Started ARV treatment in 2003 (Trizivir twice a day). My VL has been undetectable and CD4 counts >800. I have been loosing limb's muscle mass, noticeably since 2008. I have followed excercise regimes and although I gain muscle mass and strenght after the exercises, I have also noticed that I tend to loose muscle mass faster and in a greater extend after the excercises. I try to follow the nutrition regimes you suggest. My CD4 were 1450 in april, 2012 and 1815 in october this year. Why might this be happening?/should I worry about that?. My other blood lab results are ok, except for the red blood cells count whch have been under normal (3.7-3.8) for a year now. I live by myself and cook my own meals. Since about a year I am having a moderate ataxia in my legs and severe muscle pain after a 200 m walking which alleviates after a rest of several minutes. I have been coping with depression and axiety disorders since 2000. I am under Psychiatric control (Mirtapina -Remeron-; Clonazepam and recently Quetiapine, as well). My Psychiatric Dr. ordered me to rest, so I am not going to my job as I used to for several months now. Last June my Dr. suggested me to quit Trizivir. I did not because I was afraid of living alone and eventually coping with opportunistic infections. I am going to see my Dr. again later this week. I would like to know what to ask her: Hormones? physiotherapy?... How can be proactive on what's going on with me? or should I just do nothing else? I will try again to join a group here to seek some company. Thanks in adv