Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Nutrition and ExerciseNutrition and Exercise

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Untreated HIV and testosterone levels in woman
Jun 22, 2011

Hello Nelson,

I am a medical student based out of Prague and we are debating with a fellow member of the faculty regarding the testosterone levels in untreated long term HIV positive females. Can you please confirm that testosterone levels drop in females with long term untreated HIV and give us some more details (if you happen to have written a blog entry on that or if you have a document)?

On a side note, I would like to express my extreme admiration for you and all the work you do to help people manage their status and get healthy!

Thank you, Sandy

Response from Mr. Vergel

Dear Sandy

Thanks for the excellent question. I usually answer questions on testosterone in men but we have some data on testosterone in HIV positive women as well.

Your question specifies untreated HIV+ women. I am attaching a great paper by Dr Bhasin et al that found that the higher the HIV viral load, the lower the blood levels of testosterone in HIV+ women. In general, HIV+ women had lower testosterone than HIV- women. Low testosterone was not correlated to unintentional weight loss in Bhasin's data.

We know that testosterone supplementation in men and women who have testosterone deficiency tends to increase lean body mass, stamina, bone density, and sex drive. We have good data in HIV+ men but little in HIV+ women when it comes to testosterone supplementation, however.