Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Nutrition and ExerciseNutrition and Exercise

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Lifting heavy weight is NOT good???
Dec 28, 2010

Hi Mr Nelson. I have a question I wanted to ask you. I have been lifting heavy weight for almost 8 years now. I became infected earlier this year and about to start the med soon. I was told that lifting heavy weight is NOT a good idea in HIV patients. Is this true? I am worried about the fat change (I will be on Atripla) and general health and want to maintain my look as much as before. But I do not want to put my health at risk if I were to continue lifting weight. I do intermittent cardio but I life more weight. I'm 36, 5'6 and at 138 lbs. asian. I have always been healthy and with no health problem. I eat right and take protein after my work out. Also, is taking pre-workout formula before lifting weight a bad thing to do?? Thanks!

Response from Mr. Vergel

Healthy HIV+ people have no limitations to exercise compared to HIV negatives. Exercise can be good for the immune system if done properly, but too much of it can be suppressive of immune function. Here is a great article on this topic: Is Too Much Exercise Bad For You?