Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
Read Now: Expert Opinions on HIV Cure Research

Ask the Experts About

Nutrition and ExerciseNutrition and Exercise

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Weight control and HIV
Jun 14, 2010

Hi Nelson,

I have a major issue. I have been weight-lifting and running consistently ever since I left the Army three years ago. I have NOT changed anything about what or how I eat. And yet my weight is getting out of control. I was once a pleasant 176 pounds. About two months ago they weighed me in at 188 pounds. Today I find out that I am 190 pounds. I don't look fat. I still fit in size 34 jeans. I still run pretty fast and hard without huffing and puffing. WHY AM I PUTTING ON THIS WEIGHT? PLEASE help me with some advice. Maybe I am blowing this out of porportion like my spouse, Devin, tells me. I am just concerned because I don't know what I need to do or what I am doing wrong. I thought people with HIV don't have to worry about wieght gain. Thanks.

Response from Mr. Vergel

I wish I could help you but I have insufficient information. Can you help me by answering the following questions?:

1- Are you on HIV medications? if so, how long and what are you taking? 2- Are you eating more or have you changed the way you eat? 3- Have you started any new medications, over the counter products or supplements for any condition? 4- Are you drinking alcohol more than you used to? 5- Anything else I should know ?

Nelson

Previous
Trying to get pregnant
Next
working in a bug and weed store

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Get Email Notifications When This Forum Updates or Subscribe With RSS

Advertisement

Q&A TERMS OF USE