Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Nutrition and ExerciseNutrition and Exercise

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Spike in viral load
Jun 29, 2008

Hi, I have been doing vitamin and herbal therapy for 12 years, however in the last months my viral load which usually ranged between 10,000 - 20,000, jumped to 40,000 (Dec 07), 60,000 (March 08), 120,000 (June 08). I have been in good health, but the VL numbers seem to say otherwise. My T-cell count has consistantly remained steady around 300. I now live/work in a very remote part of Australia and don't have access to usual city carers and information. And unfortunately my herbalist for 12 years, fell very sick and ceased business (coincidently my VL has risen since), and I find myself very much on my own. The regional doctors I have seen here tell me I HAVE to start the meds immediately. They completely dismiss the herbal therapy. Is it time to start the meds with the obvious VL activity? I have not tried the mentioned Kpax treatment, due to the obvious distance from the USA - perhaps I should try it?? I am reluctant to commence the med treatment after all this time, but would it be foolish not to start now? And if so what should I start with? I have read that Valtrex can reduce viral load in treratment naive, but the doctor here knew nothing of it and just wants me to start the meds (he will refer me to a city doc). Do you know anything of Valtrex treatment and VL? Would love some feedback. Cheers.

Response from Mr. Vergel