Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol
  Breaking News: FDA Approves Triumeq, New Once-Daily Combination Pill

Ask the Experts About

Nutrition and ExerciseNutrition and Exercise

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Need Help. I have been asked to train someone HIV +
Mar 28, 2004

I am a personal trainer and was approached the other day by a potential client who informed me he is hiv+.I am very ignorant when it comes to this and want to know a few things. What risk am I at of contracting the virus? Do I have to take it easier than an HIV- person in the same shape. When does Hiv become Aids? Sorry for my ignorance. thanks for answering my question.

Response from Mr. Vergel

No problem. It is very good of you to post this question. I am glad you have the initiative to ask! There are no standards for exercise in HIV disease,so I will give you a few pointers that I have learned as a consumer and a trainer myself.

1- You cannot catch HIV by training someone who is HIV positive. Feel free to touch them. Do not be afraid of sweat. Just make sure that client has no open wounds anywhere, but this is standard practice anyway.

2- Ask your client if he/she has neuropathy (pain in the extremities) or myopathy (muscle weakness). If he/she does, you need to be extra careful since these are two huge issues that can cause them to get discouraged. Start then slow and with low weights.

3- Fatigue and diarrhea can also be very debilitating as side effects of HIV medications. Make sure the person stays hydrated and that you find out when in the day their energy is at the highest point.