Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Mental Health and HIVMental Health and HIV

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

Emotional Disturbance From The Fear of HIV
Sep 4, 1997

Hello. I am a 20 year old student who desperately needs help from you. I have this fear of being infected with HIV. This fear is so great that now I am so stressed that and I cannot concentrate on my studies. I have not participated in any risky activities. I don't do drugs or sex but I cannot stop thinking about other possibilities of transmission, even though the chances are very small. For instance, I've just been to a doctor and I got a jab from him. Now, I am feeling very scared because he might accidentally use an old needle and infect me with HIV. I know this sounds stupid but I just can't get rid of the feeling that there is still a small chance that it could happen and it could happen to me! I also cannot stop thinking about how heart broken my mother would be if I am infected with HIV. Please help me. I am going crazy. I can't see a doctor myself about this because I am just a student I can't afford it. Besides, I'm living away from my parents. Please tell me what to do!

Response from Mr. Shernoff