Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Mental Health and HIVMental Health and HIV

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

I feel like Im giving up or losing the battle
Dec 30, 2012

I was diagnosed with AIDS in June of 2011. I had PCP pneumonia and spent a few weeks in intensive care. My t cell count was 9 and my doctor thought I might not pull through. I have been on Atripla and Bactrim for 18 months and my t cells have risen to 167. I have gained 35 pounds, back to a weight of 175-180 (I was at 143 and am 6 feet tall when I left the hospital). My viral load is now undetectable but I'm starting to have real depression symptoms: worthlessness, my family not being supportive, and having to take in three boarders to keep my home. I'm an artist and was really painting again and am involved with Visual Aids, but the holidays seem to have taken its toll. My children will no longer talk to me and I turn 60 in January. I do have a few positive things happening but I don't want to get out of bed lately or leave my house. I am gaining belly fat that I have never had and have really low motivation. I'm also on 150mgs per day of Sertraline for depression, 10 mg of Zolpidem for sleep along with Lorazepam 1mg for anxiety up to three per day. I don't feel suicidal but am starting to wonder how I am going to turn this depression around and get my life back. I was doing so much better three or four months ago but now I feel I'm going down fast. Any suggestions?

Response from Dr. Fawcett