Advertisement
The Body: The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Follow Us Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Twitter Download Our App
Professionals >> Visit The Body PROThe Body en Espanol

Ask the Experts About

Mental Health and HIVMental Health and HIV

Rollover images to visit our other forums!
Recent AnswersAsk a Question

• Email Email
  • Glossary Glossary

HIV, Mirtazapine and Agranulocytosis
May 5, 2012

I am a 30 year old HIV positive man who started treatment about 6 weeks ago (CD4 in the 700-900 range, viral load 300k-1m). I'm on Norvir, Prezista and Truvada. I don't have my first set of results back yet, but have had no major side effects so far. I also have Bipolar II, which I have been managing with lamotrigine (Lamictal) 150mg/day for the last two or three years.

I've had increasing problems with depression in the last few months so my GP and I decided to try adding an antidepressant. We tried sertraline but it completely eliminated my libido (a boy's gotta have *some* fun, right?!). We're now looking at mirtazapine (Remeron), but I read that this can, in rare cases, cause agranulocytosis, which is presumably the last thing anyone with HIV needs (and, from my layman's reading, might be a bit hard to differentiate from ARV problems in an HIV positive patient?) Should I be concerned about this? I was pushing for bupropion (Wellbutrin/Zyban) but, here in the UK, it's not licensed for depression so he wants to try other options first.

Grateful for any insight or recommendations you can offer!

Response from Dr. Fawcett